Geelong Regional Commission

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Geelong Regional Commission

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

VA 426

Description area

Dates of existence

1977 - 1993


The Geelong Regional Commission was established in 1977 under the Geelong Regional Commission Act 1977. It came into operation on 1 August 1977 (with the first meeting held 12 August 1977) as the successor to the Geelong Regional Planning Authority (VA 2830). It's creation gave effect to the State Government's decentralisation policies and, in particular, Statement of Planning Policy No.7 (Geelong), which received Governor-in-Council approval in August 1973. Under the Act, the Commission was responsible to the Minister for State Development and Decentralisation (VRG 51) except in respect of the Commission's statutory planning functions under the Town and Country Planning Act for which it was responsible to the Minister for Planning (VRG 65). The Commission consists of fourteen members, five appointed by the Governor-in-Council and one appointed from each municipality in the Geelong area, namely the: City of Geelong City of Geelong West City of Newtown City of South Barwon Borough of Queenscliffe Shire of Bannockburn Shire of Barrabool Shire of Bellarine Shire of Corio. Following the proclamation of the City of Greater Geelong Act 1993 (No. 16/1993) on 18 May 1993 the Geelong Regional Commission was abolished. The City of Greater Geelong was constituted under Part 2 of the Act; the boundaries of the city were described in Schedule 1 (of the Act). The Greater Geelong City Council was the successor in law of the former councils subsumed in its creation. Commissioners were to be appointed under Section 7 of the Act. Under Part 3 of the Act, the boundaries of the Shire of Bannockburn were fixed and described in Schedule 2. Under Part 4 of the Act, the boundaries of the Shire of Barrabool were fixed and described in Schedule 3. The Act includes a section (Section 23) to enable the implementation of plans devised under the Geelong Regional Planning Scheme. Each of the municipal districts of the Greater Geelong City Council, the Shire of Bannockburn, the Borough of Queenscliffe, and the Barrabool Shire Council were to become a planning authority in relation to the planning scheme applying in its municipal district.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places