Identity area

Reference code





  • 1840 - 1974 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Context area

Name of creator

(1977 - 1993)

Administrative history

The Geelong Regional Commission was established in 1977 under the Geelong Regional Commission Act 1977. It came into operation on 1 August 1977 (with the first meeting held 12 August 1977) as the successor to the Geelong Regional Planning Authority (VA 2830). It's creation gave effect to the State Government's decentralisation policies and, in particular, Statement of Planning Policy No.7 (Geelong), which received Governor-in-Council approval in August 1973. Under the Act, the Commission was responsible to the Minister for State Development and Decentralisation (VRG 51) except in respect of the Commission's statutory planning functions under the Town and Country Planning Act for which it was responsible to the Minister for Planning (VRG 65). The Commission consists of fourteen members, five appointed by the Governor-in-Council and one appointed from each municipality in the Geelong area, namely the: City of Geelong City of Geelong West City of Newtown City of South Barwon Borough of Queenscliffe Shire of Bannockburn Shire of Barrabool Shire of Bellarine Shire of Corio. Following the proclamation of the City of Greater Geelong Act 1993 (No. 16/1993) on 18 May 1993 the Geelong Regional Commission was abolished. The City of Greater Geelong was constituted under Part 2 of the Act; the boundaries of the city were described in Schedule 1 (of the Act). The Greater Geelong City Council was the successor in law of the former councils subsumed in its creation. Commissioners were to be appointed under Section 7 of the Act. Under Part 3 of the Act, the boundaries of the Shire of Bannockburn were fixed and described in Schedule 2. Under Part 4 of the Act, the boundaries of the Shire of Barrabool were fixed and described in Schedule 3. The Act includes a section (Section 23) to enable the implementation of plans devised under the Geelong Regional Planning Scheme. Each of the municipal districts of the Greater Geelong City Council, the Shire of Bannockburn, the Borough of Queenscliffe, and the Barrabool Shire Council were to become a planning authority in relation to the planning scheme applying in its municipal district.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Not yet assessed

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


These photographs are from the "Changing Face of Geelong" exhibition held at the National Wool Museum. This is not a complete consecutive list of photographs. Nos 22,29,35,41,42,43,44,45,71,73 & 83 are held at the National Wool Museum

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places